

From the Principal's Desk

Hello Parents, Carers and Community Members,

Our final Newsletter for 2023 is here, and by the display of photos you will see why we all feel we're crawling to the finish line!

Graduation last week was a great evening for our 5 Graduating students, their families and special guests. Thank you to Sjaan Jose who catered for the evening with a lovely meal that we shared. Our students delighted in a photo-booth, teddy bear signing, reminiscing through the years with an iMovie and special video-tributes sending well-wishes from family and friends far and wide. Thank you Miss Dale for coordinating the tribute. Special guests were passed teachers Mrs Jo Pearce and Miss Hughes, we'd like to thank them for joining our students on their special-night.

Tuesday saw our much anticipated 'End of Year Concert' and our whole-school performance of Matilda the Musical! The children were brilliant. One hour and twenty minutes of end-to-end singing, dancing, line delivery and seamless scene changes, were confidently delivered by every student. It was a credit to them. I would like to thank all the staff who assisted the children to pull off such a feat, particularly Tracy Taylor for another wonderfully painted backdrop, Ms Bennett, Miss Page, Mrs Diver who supported children in costume changes, learning of lines and back-stage support all while Miss Dale directed the production. Thank you to the team, but well done Miss Dale for taking the lead with your vision for 'Matilda!' I'd also like to thank Jasper Green, who managed the lights, music and microphones for the whole afternoon. Well done everyone on the team effort. Thank you families for supporting your children at home with the mammoth task of learning lines. It's remarkable what high-expectations and the belief in the students delivers! I was very proud indeed.

Congratulations to the children who received the honour of an award. Well done on your hard-work throughout the year and your 'commitment to achieve' your personal goals. To the many families who have sent their sincere thanks for their child's award, we are humbled by your appreciation.

Our 'Good Standing Event' today at the Wagin Pool, thank you Rachel Bairstow, and Clifford the Big Red Dog movie at the Betty-Terry Theatre was a wonderful end to a great year of learning. Thank you Clem Henry, Gary Bateup and Dave Stephens for the use and driving of buses. The children had a super time and displayed great manners.

I'd like to take this final opportunity to express my gratitude to the wonderful staff, families, relief-workers, Black Duck Café owner Sjaan Jose, maintenance crew, ladies at the CRC, Bus Drivers, local Co-op, Roadhouse and any one else I may have over-looked for their support of Dumbleyung Primary School throughout the 2023 year. Everyone's contribution is unique and supports the day -to-day experience for our students. Thank you. Our success is your success!

Today at the final bell, we farewell Abbie, Bridie, Cleo, Ciara and Jasper. We wish you all the very best for your future high school years!

Rest up everyone, be safe over the holidays and a very Merry Christmas to you all!

School Development Days for 2024 are 29th & 30th January 26th April 15th July and the 7th October.

Kind Regards Melanie Ball

Principal

Learning-Excellence-Equity-Care

"Every child, every day, commitment to achieve!"

Dates to remember:

Term 4 2023

14 December Rewards Day Students Last Day

15 December Last Day of School 2023

Term 1 2024

29/30 January School Development Day

31 JanuaryStudents Resume

26 April School Development Day

15 July School Development Day

7 October School Development Day

NEWSLETTER ISSUE 11 14 DECEMBER 2023

49 Taylor Street
Dumbleyung, WA 6350

dumbleyung.ps@education.wa.edu.au www.dumbleyungps.wa.edu.au Telephone: 08 98 632500 Mobile: 0455 051 698





































Award Recipients

K/PP Class	Kyra Shepherd	DPS P&C
K/PP Academic	Kenzie Knight	Rick Wilson MP
Yr 1/ 2/3 Class	Layla Smith	Wagin Masonic Lodge
Yr 1/2/3 Academic	Owen Keogh	Hon Darren West MLC
Junior STEM	Duke Ward	Dumbleyung Land Conservation District Committee
Junior Arts (Drama)	Vera Smith	Mrs Patricia Holmes
Yr 4/5 Class	Bailey Cronin	Wagin Masonic Lodge
Yr 4/5 Academic	Eloise Bartram	Hon Steve Martin MLC
Yr 6 Class	Ciara Eades	DPS P&C
Senior STEM	Cleo Ward	Dumbleyung Land Conservation District Committee
Senior Arts (Drama)	Cleo Ward	Mrs Patricia Holmes
CCC for Good Manners	Dylan Ball	Mrs Jenny Williams
Commitment to Achieve	Bailey Cronin	DPS P&C
Commitment to Achieve	Abbie Smith	DPS P&C
Sports	Bridie Bartram	Peter Rundle MLA
Citizenship	Abbie Smith	Shire of Dumbleyung
DUX Yr 6 Academic	Cleo Ward	Hon Shelley Payne MLC



DUX Year 6 Academic Award won by Cleo Ward presented by Mr Douglas Cook , Director of Education Wheatbelt



Citizenship Award won by
Abbie Smith
presented by Shire President, Mrs Amy Knight



Senior Art Award (Drama) won by Cleo Ward presented by Peter Rundle, MLA

Congratulations to all Award winners and thank you to the many donors of the book awards. It is very much appreciated and wonderful to see you at our End of Year Presentations.



Year 4/5 Academic Award won by Eloise Bartram



Sport Award won by Bridie Bartram presented by Peter Rundle, MLA



Year 1/2/3 Academic Award won by Owen Keogh



Senior STEM Award won by
Cleo Ward
presented by James Bennett Chairperson
Dumbleyung Land Conservation District Committee



K/PP Class Award won by
Kyra Shepherd
presented by DPS P&C President
Mrs Emily Edwards



Duke Ward

presented by James Bennett Chairperson

Dumbleyung Land Conservation District

Committee



CCC Award won by
Dylan Ball
presented by Mr Douglas Cook,
Director of Education Wheatbelt



Year 4/5 Class Award won by
Bailey Cronin
presented by
Jeffery Stewart, Secretary Wagin Lodge



Year 1/2/3 Class Award won by Layla Smith presented by Jeffery Stewart, Secretary Wagin Lodge



Junior Art Award won by Vera Smith presented by Amelia Dale



Principal Melanie Ball with leaving staff: Jane Kilpatrick, Rebecca West, Amelia Dale



Commitment To Achieve Award won by Bailey Cronin presented by Mr Douglas Cook , Director of Education Wheatbelt



K/PP Academic Award won by Kenzie Knight



2024 Student Council -School Captains Lara Clavey & Skyleirah Hansen presented by Mrs Melanie Ball



Commitment To Achieve Award won by
Abbie Smith
presented by
Mr Douglas Cook ,
Director of Education Wheatbelt